Daily Archives: January 2, 2011

Gandhi’s Indian Cuisine – Fine Indian Take Out Food

Happy New Years everyone, I hope everyone had a pleasant holidays and managed to enjoy some good quality time with family and friends. But most importantly, I hope everyone ate well and enjoyed what they ate.

I am very excited to give you this first blog simply because it will be the first one of the new year.  My 2011 goal for tdotoeatswello is to post at least 150 new food blogs. So without further ado let’s get started. Over the past few months I have been getting recommendations on this Indian Restaurant called Gandhi Indian Cuisine. If you heard rumors about their butter chicken roti, you probably heard things like, “it’s extremely good and delicious,” Do take my word for it, their butter chicken roti is definitely one that must be tried. But I will let my fingers do the talking and give you guys an idea as to what you will be getting if you ever decide on going to Gandhi’s.

Gandhi Indian Cuisine Storefront

Inside the Restaurant

The Restaurant is located near Bathurst and Queen. For the exact location, go to 554 Queen Street West.

When you arrive at your destination, please do not be alarmed, the restaurant is quite small and can probably house about 14 people give or take. The menu is quite limited and the majority of their items are vegetarian dishes.  But we can say that the menu is divided into 60% vegetarian and 40% meat. However, Gandhi’s Indian Cuisine specializes in Roti. If you read my previous post on Ali Baba’s, it will give you a brief summary on what roti is.

If you ever decide to have dinner or lunch at Gandhi’s, I would highly suggest getting their butter chicken roti, since this is what the restaurant is known for. However, everything on menu is equally as good depending on what your preferences are. But if you are trying the restaurant for the first time, I will repeat myself again, get the butter chicken roti!

All this talk about roti is probably getting you hungry. But I have to break the news to you.  Prior to going to Gandhi’s, I’ve had roti so much, I decided to get the butter chicken on rice instead of their famous roti. I determined that a change was needed once in a while. I apologize for the substitution, but the quality and taste is the same in my opinion. The only thing that is different, is the price.

Butter Chicken Roti – $11.95 which is about $13.50 with taxes
Butter Chicken on Rice – $12.95 which is about $14.63 with taxes.

Peeka

Butter Chicken on Rice

The pricing at Gandhi’s is quite expensive.  However,  I find that most Indian restaurants charge a bit more for their food than other restaurants (ie Chinese, Japanese, Korean).

Upon ordering your dish, the server will ask you how hot you want your meal to be. You have a selection of:

Mild > Mild Hot > Medium > Medium Hot > Spicy > Really Hot

I am a spicy eater, and normally I order my food in the medium to spicy range. I will warn you however, Gandhi’s dishes are a lot spicier than what the scale implies. The first time I went to Gandhi’s, I ordered spicy. Let me tell you, the food was good but the meal was unbearable to eat. My taste buds were burnt to a crisp because the food was just so hot. Every time I took a bite, my eyes would just water in pain. I kid you not, that was no exaggeration. After my first encounter, I learned my lesson. DO NOT GO SPICY! Instead, whatever spicy scale you can handle go one down, if not, go two down. The second time I went to Gandhi’s,  I ordered medium hot. No brainer there. This time around, the food wasn’t as hot. As a result, I actually tasted my food for once, rather than just swallowing the meal. Haha

To describe the taste of the butter chicken, it would go something like this. Very buttery, rich in flavor (especially with the spices they use), thick and somewhat heavy. The sauce is quite heavy, and after eating about half of your meal, your stomach will begin to feel the weight. Overall, if you never had butter chicken, Gandhi’s butter chicken is one of true nature and would be considered authentic and the real deal, not westernized.

[SIDENOTE] If you have a sugar tooth and love sweets, try their Gulab Jaman Dessert. It is soooooo good. What is it? It is a fried ball of dough, drenched in syrup.  Sounds simple and tasteless, but it is really good. YOU HAVE TO TRY IT BEFORE YOU CRITICIZE ME. You will not regret it.

Gulab Jamun

My final verdict of Gandhi’s is a must try. If you never had butter chicken and is wanting to try it for the first time, Gandhi’s is the place to go. The food is relatively good, gives you an idea on what true authentic Indian food is, and most importantly the portions are quite generous. The only downside of Gandhi’s is the pricing. The dishes are priced quite high in my opinion for what you are getting. On a scale out of 10 I would give Gandhi Indian Cuisine a 7/10.

Price – 6/10 – A tad expensive
Taste – 7/10 – Good taste
Size – 8/10 – Portions are big

If you would like to share your experience on Gandhi Indian Cuisine or have additional comments you would like to share with the readers, please write them below in the comment section. Subscribe if you like the blog.

In the meantime, eat wello and enjoy